Morrison Motors Turriff Aberdeenshire Shield 1st Round, Fraserburgh v Banks O’ Dee, Tuesday 11th October 2022

Banks O’ Dee took the lead after 9 minutes when Neil Gauld got on the end of a flick and forced the ball home. The Broch responded on 22 minutes after Paul Campbell and Ross Aitken combined on the right wing with the latter crossing for the home striker to sweep the ball home from 10 yards. Gauld tried his luck again five minutes later but was thwarted by Joe Barbour in the Fraserburgh goal. At the other end Butcher and Paul Young worked well together to create a chance for Campbell who saw his shot blocked.

Mark Gilmour then set up Gauld on 35 minutes, however the Dee striker screwed his shot wide. Two minutes later Campbell raced away from Jason Selbie and as the young full back tried to recover he could only clip the Broch striker from behind. Campbell got up and calmly stroked home the resultant spot-kick. Two minutes before the break it was the visitors’ chance to level from the spot after referee Scott Donohoe adjudged Ryan Sargent had impeded Lachie Macleod. Gauld stepped up and dispatched the penalty past Barbour.

Half Time: Fraserburgh 2 Banks O’ Dee 2

Five minutes into the second half a driving run by Greg Buchan almost ended with the Broch retaking the lead but Selbie redeemed himself by clearing the ball away from goal. Just after the hour Gauld completed his hat-trick when he stabbed the ball home from close range to put Dee ahead.

The Broch brought on reinforcements in the shape of Connor Wood and Scott Barbour and it was the latter who rifled a Campbell lay-off towards goal only to see his effort deflected wide. Barbour would not be denied long however as a Buchan free kick on 80 minutes was headed down by Kieran Simpson and the Broch’s top scorer rammed the ball home from close range.

Barbour almost turned provider two minutes later by Simpson’s header was deflected wide. The home side were pushing for the winner and Sargent’s cross was met by an acrobatic attempt by Barbour which flew wide. Wood latched onto a Barbour lay-off with four minutes remaining but his shot was blocked away for a corner.

Full Time: Fraserburgh 3 Banks O’ Dee 3

Both sides traded their first two penalties with Jack Henderson and Lachie Macleod scoring for Dee and Kieran Simpson and Paul Campbell replying for the home side. Hamish Macleod saw his penalty stopped by Joe Barbour before Scott Barbour netted at the second time of asking after Ross Salmon was adjudged to have stepped off his line too early when saving the Broch striker’s first penalty. Matthew Wallace and Marc Young netted for Dee and with Ryan Sargent having scored for the Broch it was left to Bryan Hay to thunder the winning penalty high into the net to send Fraserburgh through to a home quarter final against Aberdeen University.

Penalty Shootout: Fraserburgh 5 Banks O’ Dee 4

Fraserburgh: Joe Barbour, Ross Aitken, Bryan Hay, Kieran Simpson, Paul Young, Greg Buchan, Logan Watt (Connor Wood 72), Ryan Sargent, Paul Campbell, Sean Butcher (Scott Barbour 64), Jamie Beagrie.
Sub not used: Zane Laird, Sam Inglis.
Goalscorers: Sean Butcher (22), Paul Campbell (37, pen), (Scott Barbour (80).

Banks O’ Dee: Ross Salmon, Alasdair Stark, Jason Selbie, Marc Young, Neale Allan, Kane Winton (Kacper Lewecki 46), Mark Gilmour (Hamish Macleod 64), Matthew Wallace, Neil Gauld (Jack Henderson 64), Lachie Macleod, Lewis Crosbie.
Sub not used: Robert Armstrong, Paul Lawson, Andrew Shearer.
Goalscorer: Neil Gauld (9, 43, pen & 62).

Match Officials – Referee: Scott Donohoe, Assistant Referees: Kevin Murray & Dave McLaren.



Date Time League Season Full Time
11 October 2022 8:00 pm Aberdeenshire Shield (Morrison Motors) 2022/2023 90'


Bellslea Park
22 Seaforth St, Fraserburgh AB43 9BB, UK


ClubHalf TimeFull TimeGoalsPenalties
Banks O Dee2334


21Joe Barbour Goalkeeper
3Bryan Hay Defender
5Kieran Simpson Defender
6Paul Young Midfielder
7Jamie Beagrie Midfielder
Paul Campbell Forward 36'
14Logan Watt 12 Midfielder
16Greg Buchan Midfielder
17Sean Butcher 11 Forward 21'
19Ryan Sargent Midfielder
22Ross Aitken Defender
11Scott Barbour 17 Forward 77'
12Connor Wood 14 Forward
18Zane Laird Forward
23Sam Inglis Goalkeeper

Manager: Mark Cowie
Assistant Manager: James Duthie
Coach: Antony Sherlock
Physio: Sarah Robertson
Kit Man: Derek Strachan
Goalkeeping Coach: Paul Swanston

Yellow Cards
Red Cards

ffc logo KO 21 36 64 72 77 FT