Evening Express Aberdeenshire Cup Final, Formartine United v Fraserburgh, Wednesday 28th July 2021, Harlaw Park, Inverurie, Kick Off 8:00PM

 The Broch overcame a half time deficit to retain the Aberdeenshire Cup which they won in 2019-20. A second half brace by Paul Campbell and a stunning strike by Scott Barbour was enough to see off Formartine United and give the Black and Whites a fifth victory in the last nine seasons in this famous old competition.

The Broch almost made the perfect start on three minutes when Ryan Cowie’s corner was met by the head of Ryan Christie, that effort was blocked and after William West picked out Scott Barbour the striker’s effort was volleyed just wide by Sean Butcher. A minute later Jonathan Smith’s free kick was well held by Paul Leask.

On 8 minutes Scott Lisle saw his shot inside the area blocked before Leask dived on the rebound. A minute later Andrew Greig saw his effort saved by Leask with Bryan Hay on hand to clear the rebound. At the other end Barbour picked out Lewis Davidson with a cross at the back post but the Broch wing back couldn’t force the ball home.

On 15 minutes Cowie released Barbour on the left and his cross was headed towards goal by Ewen Macdonald by Butcher, the Formartine stopper pulled off a great save but the ball broke to Davidson but once again he failed to hit the target from close range. Stuart Smith was replaced three minutes later by Andrew Paterson after picking up a knock earlier.

Formartine took the lead on 20 minutes when Smith and Cole Anderson combined to set up Lisle who slotted the ball past the onrushing Leask. Three minutes later the Broch missed another chance when Butcher headed over a Cowie free kick. On the half hour Butcher’s through ball set Barbour clear on goal but his powerful shot crashed off the crossbar.

Three minutes later Hay picked out Butcher with a cross from the right but the striker’s header was off target. Cole Anderson was yellow carded after 37 minutes. From the resultant free kick Davidson saw his low effort well saved by Macdonald. Two minutes later a quick free kick by Cowie into Barbour but his shot from 12 yards smacked off the right hand post.

Half Time: Formartine United 1 Fraserburgh 0

Five minutes into the second half a long ball forward bounced into the Formartine penalty area and Paul Campbell reacted before the keeper could get to the ball to head into an empty net and level the score. On 55 minutes a corner by Cowie was headed wide by Butcher as the Broch pushed for another goal.

It was only delayed by three minutes when another set piece was cleared to Barbour 20 yards out on the right corner of the penalty area and he curled a magnificent effort into the top corner past the despairing dive of Macdonald. Graeme Rodger was then booked for a bad foul before Lisle saw his effort on 63 minutes blocked by Leask.

On 71 minutes Cowie’s corner was headed back across goal by Hay but West’s shot from close range was blocked. Three minutes later Lisle’s header was off target for Formartine. The Broch made the most of that miss on 77 minutes when a short back pass was pounced on by Campbell and he rounded the keeper to slot the ball into an empty net and double the lead. He also received a yellow card for taking his shirt off during the celebrations.

Lewis Duncan who had replaced Butcher midway through the second half then hammered in a shot which almost took off teammate Barbour’s head. Grant Campbell was booked in the last minute but the Broch held on comfortably to secure their twelfth success in the competition.

Full Time: Formartine United 1 Fraserburgh 3

 Formartine United: Ewen Macdonald, Jonathan Crawford, Stuart Smith (Andrew Paterson 18), Stuart Anderson (Liam Strachan 48), Darryn Kelly, Kieran Lawrence, Graeme Rodger, Scott Lisle, Jonathan Smith, Cole Anderson (Max McGinlay 79), Andrew Greig.

Sub not used: Daniel Park, Paul Lawson, Balint Demus.

Goalscorer: Scott Lisle (20).

 Fraserburgh: Paul Leask, Lewis Davidson Bryan Hay, Ryan Cowie, Ryan Christie, Grant Campbell (yellow card 89), Paul Young, William West, Paul Campbell (yellow card 77) (Gary Harris 78), Sean Butcher (Lewis Duncan 67), Scott Barbour (Ryan Sargent 87).

Subs not used: Kieran Simpson, Scott Henry, Logan Watt, Edward Flinn.

Goalscorers: Paul Campbell (50 & 77), Scott Barbour (58).

 Match Officials: Referee: Harry Bruce, Assistant Referees: Chris Phillips & Paul McAvinue, Fourth Official: Joel Kennedy.


Date Time League Season Full Time
28 July 2021 8:00 pm Aberdeenshire Cup (Evening Express) 2020/2021 90'


Harlaw Park
54 Harlaw Rd, Inverurie AB51 4SR, UK


ClubHalf TimeFull Time
Formartine United11


1Paul Leask Goalkeeper
2Lewis Davidson Defender
3Bryan Hay Defender
4Ryan Cowie Defender
Ryan Christie Defender
Grant Campbell Midfielder
6Paul Young Midfielder
8William West Midfielder
Paul Campbell Forward
17Sean Butcher Forward
11Scott Barbour 19 Forward
Gary Harris Forward
Lewis Duncan 17 Midfielder
19Ryan Sargent 11 Midfielder
14Logan Watt Midfielder
5Kieran Simpson Defender
Scott Henry Defender
Edward Flinn Goalkeeper
Yellow Cards
Red Cards

ffc logo KO 65 77 85 FT